Race Report: 2014 Imana Wild Ride

Team Safire claim race honours at Umngazi
After four days of battle, it was only in the final 20km before the finish at Umngazi River Bungalows that Warren Price and Craig Stone (Team Safire) finally broke the chase with Nick Floros and Andrew Hill (TIB/Husqvarna) to take the win on stage four and the overall race honours. For Price, it was his third successive win having won the race last year with Floros and in 2012 with Stone. Mike Smith and Willie Brink (Beached Lard) rode a solid day four to secure their third place overall. The Cape Town pair of Dave Mills and Philip Lambrecht (Team Youngmen) arrived home just ahead of a stout effort from Russell and Tyronne White (Team Thule). On the overall standings, it was Team Thule fourth ahead of Cycle Sport Westville’s Werner Moolman and Sean Marsh in fifth place.
Bjorn and Lindsey Vye (Team Vye) secured their win in the mixed category in a new record time of eleven hours and thirteen  minutes; nearly forty-five minutes faster than the previous record. Team Sneak’s Craig and Christine Woods placed second ahead of an all Cape Town podium with Henk and Marleen Lourens in third.
Perfect sunny warm weather made for ideal racing conditions as the remainder of the field arrived home well before the sun dipped. The second event, “Ride the Wave” saw the non-timed event of one hundred teams arriving at Umngazi to conclude a successful fifteenth ‘racing of the tide’.

RESULTS – STAGE 4, Overall: Warren Price/Craig Stone (Safire) 3h06.55, Nick Floros/Andrew Hill (TIB/Husqvarna) 3h14.12, Mike Smith/ Willie Brink (Beached Lard) 3h21.53, Dave Mills / Phillip Lambrecht (Youngmen) 3h39.19, Russell & Tyronne White (Team Thule) 3h40.04. Mixed: Bjorn & Lindsey Vye (Vye) 3h46.17, Craig & Christine Woods (Team Sneak) 3h56.26, Henk & Marleen Lourens (Just for Fun) 4h39.10

GENERAL CLASSIFICATION, Overall: Warren Price/Craig Stone (Safire) 9h25.14, Nick Floros/Andrew Hill (TIB/Husqvarna) 9h32.17, Mike Smith/ Willie Brink (Beached Lard) 9h59.24, Russell & Tyronne White (Team Thule) 10h27.01, Sean Marsh / Werner Moolman (Cycle Sport Westville) 11h11.50.
Mixed: Bjorn & Lindsey Vye (Vye) 11h13.06, Craig & Christine Woods (Team Sneak) 12h09.59, Marleen & Henk Lourens (Just for Fun) 13h52.58

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *